Bob Ford receives Bob Jones Award

Posted June 21, 2017 - Western Pennsylvania Golf Association - Contact

Bob Ford competing in 2014 U.S. Open Qualifying at Valley Brook CC. He qualified and advanced to Sectional Qualifying.

It was quite a week for Bob Ford during the U.S. Open Championship at Erin Hills.

The long-time head golf professional at Oakmont Country Club was presented with the Bob Jones Award by the United States Golf Association on Tuesday.

The Bob Jones Award is the USGA’s highest honor. Ford is the first PGA club professional to receive it. He joins Arnold Palmer, Fred Brand, Jr., and Carol Semple Thompson as individuals from Western Pennsylvania who have received this award.

Ford also served as the starter on the first tee for all four rounds of the championship, and has been named the starter on the first tee during the U.S. Open for life.

“We congratulate Bob on receiving the Bob Jones Award and for his long-time service and dedication to Oakmont, its membership, and to the game,” Executive Director Terry Teasdale said. “Being named the starter on the first tee during the U.S. Open is a bonus and well-deserved. He's very good at it.”

As a competitor, Ford qualified to play in three U.S. Opens and finished t-26 in the 1983 championship at Oakmont. He also qualified for the PGA Championship ten times.

From the USGA - 2017 Bob Jones Award: Bob Ford

Ford has won every major event locally including the 1979 West Penn Open Championship, the Tri-State Section Championship and the Tri-State Open Championship eight times each, the Frank B. Fuhrer, Jr. Invitational (formerly the Pittsburgh Open) four times, and the Tri-State Section PGA Senior Championship twice.

Ford won the McKay Trophy for best scoring average seven times from the Tri-State PGA Section, and was the section’s Player of the Year on six occasions.

A winner of the PGA of America’s National Stroke Play Championship in 1988 and 1993, Ford also won the Pennsylvania Open in 1977, 1981 and 1993. He was awarded Professional of Year in 1987, Player of the Year in 1988, and Merchandiser of the Year in 1985 and 1997 by the PGA of America.

Ford served as president of the Tri-State Section from 1996-1998, and was elected to the PGA National Hall of Fame and the Tri-State Section PGA Hall of Fame in 2005. The Tri-State Open Championship Trophy is named in his honor.

Ford was elected to the Western Pennsylvania Golf Hall of Fame at Oakmont Country Club on October 6, 2016 as part of the Class of 2016.