The 2004 West Penn Amateur Championship at Nemacolin Country Club

Posted June 22, 2004 - Western Pennsylvania Golf Association - Contact

Defending champion, Sean Knapp, receiving the W.C. Fownes Trophy at the 2003 West Penn Amateur at Westmoreland Country Club

The 2004 West Penn Amateur Championship at Nemacolin Country Club, Beallsville, PA.

Dates: June 28-29

Par and Yardage: 6625 yards, par 70

The Course: Opened in 1935, designed by renowned architect A.W. Tillinghast and Emil Loeffler, longtime superintendent at Oakmont CC. Loeffler's area courses include Alcoma, Beaver Valley, Brackenridge Heights, Churchill Valley, Hannastown, Hill Crest, and Saint Jude.

Site Championship History: Nemacolin has hosted several WPGA competitions and USGA Qualifying Rounds. Vince Zachetti, Greensburg, won the 1994 Amateur in a playoff over Don Erickson, DuBois, who will compete in this year's championship.

Spectators: Admission is free.

2003 Champion: Sean Knapp won at Westmoreland, his sixth straight. He resides in Oakmont and belongs to St. Jude and Longue Vue. He won in 1998 (Kahkwa), 1999 (Oakmont), 2000 (Sunnehanna), 2001 (Butler), 2002 (Lake View), and 1988 (Green Oaks). Knapp has won 25 WPGA titles, more than anyone--five Mid-Ams, seven Amateurs, three Tournaments of Champions and nine Fred Brand Foursomes. With his 6th straight Amateur, Knapp surpassed Arnold Palmer (1949-52) and Robert Reilly (1960-63). Only Oakmont's William C. Fownes has won more: 8 from 1904-16.

Top Players: 2004 winners include this year's Tournament of Champions, Bernie DiLoreto, and Mid-Am, Arnold Cutrell, both from Greensburg. William Miller, McMurray, 15, winner of the 2003 and 2004 West Penn Junior Amateur, is also in the field, as is the 2004 Senior Amateur champion, Phil Saylor, Johnstown, a three-time winner.

Others include John Jones, Lower Burell, 3 WPGA Mid-Ams and the 1994 West Penn Open; 2001 Mid-Am Jeffrey Riems, Monroeville; 2003 WPGA Mid-Am and Tri-State Amateur David Brown, Upper St. Clair; multiple winner Marshall Marraccini, McKeesport; Ben Smith, Bakerstown, 2001 Junior; Jim Bryan, Latrobe, 2000 & 2001 state Mid-Am, 2003 Pennsylvania Public Links and WPGA Public Links winner, William Smith, Newville, and the 2004 Pennsylvania Senior Amateur title holder, Paul Schlachter, Bridgeville.

Amateur Runners-Up: William Smith (2003), Rich Berglund, Oakmont (1998), and Don Erickson, DuBois (1994), and from 2002--Jones, Schlachter, and Brown.

West Penn Open Champions: Marraccini (1981 & 2001); Jones (1994) and Cutrell (1990).

Total Entries: 168, second highest recently--Oakmont in 1999 had 260

Who Can Enter: The West Penn Amateur is open to amateurs who reside in the area and have USGA Handicap Indexes not exceeding 6.4 strokes.

Winner Receives: A 5-year exemption from qualifying for the West Penn Amateur, a 5-year acceptance into the West Penn Open, an invitation to the 2005 Sunnehanna Amateur and exemptions from preliminary qualifying for the 2004 Western Amateur and Pennsylvania Amateur.

Schedule of Play: The first and second rounds for 78 will be held on June 28. The low 32 and ties will play in the final (3rd) round on June 29.