Candidates for WPGA Executive Committee announced

Posted September 5, 2004 - Western Pennsylvania Golf Association - Contact

Jan Kikta, Uniontown Country Club

Jan Kikta, Masontown, a member of Uniontown CC, has been nominated for a one-year term as President of the Western Pennsylvania Golf Association. He takes office at the WPGAís Annual Meeting on October 4, at Youghiogheny CC. Currently WPGA Vice-President, Kikta has been a member of the Executive Committee since 1997. A graduate of West Virginia University, he is a vice president with Penn Development Services LP in Uniontown. Kikta is a member of the USGA Senior Amateur Championship Committee, and officiates at several USGA national competitions annually. He succeeds Fred Gibbons, Youghiogheny, as President. Gibbons has served on the Executive Committee since 1994, and will retire from the committee at the Annual Meeting.

Other officers are Vice-President, Clifford Lyon, Edgewood; Secretary, Joseph Nypaver, Scotch Valley; and Treasurer Terry Bailey, New Castle.

Newly nominated to the Executive Committee are James Boughner, Youghiogheny, Bill Donahue, Pittsburgh Field Club, Norma Efremenko, Wildwood, and Fred George, Oakmont. Resigning from the Executive Committee is David Brown, St. Clair, this year's West Penn Amateur champion, a committee member since 2000 and Ed Bierman, Pittsburgh Field Club, a committee member since 1999.The remaining Executive Committee members are: George Anderson, Beaver Lakes, Bernie Biss, Latrobe, Dario Cipriani, Lake View (Erie), Don Erickson, III, DuBois, Ron Harris, Willowbrook, Tal Heppenstall, Fox Chapel, David Kuhar, Chestnut Ridge, Gary McKindree, Butler, Rick Masten, Pittsburgh, Joe Pesavento, Longue Vue and Wayne Smith, Totteridge.