Knapp, Cutrell honored as Players of the Year

Posted October 6, 2004 - Western Pennsylvania Golf Association - Contact

Arnold Cutrell (left) and Sean Knapp
(right) with the 2004 Player of the Year Award

Two players who dominated mid-amateur golf this season, Sean Knapp, St. Jude, and Arnold Cutrell, Totteridge, were named Players of the Year by the WPGA Championship Committee.

Knapp, who won the Pennsylvania Middle Amateur, totaled 632 points, while Cutrell, who won the West Penn Mid-Amateur and reached the second round of the USGA Mid-Amateur, had 625. The Championship Committee determined the slim margin warranted naming both players to the top honor.

Knapp enjoyed an outstanding year in Pennsylvania Golf Association events, with a runner-up finish in the Amateur and 5th place in the Frank Fuhrer (Pennsylvania) Open. He also finished tied for 7th in the Frank Fuhrer Invitational. Cutrell finished third in the Pennsylvania Amateur, tied for 10th in the West Penn Open, and 11th in the Frank Fuhrer Invitational.

The rest of the Honor Roll is (3) - David Brown, St. Clair, (4) - Frank Fairman, Punxsutawney, (5) - John Jones, Oakmont, (6) - Chip Zimmerman, Pittsburgh Field Club, (7) - Scott Phillis, Meadville, (8) - Artie Fink, Jr., Sinking Valley, (9) - Kevin Fajt, Hannastown, and (10) - Justin Smith, Franklin.

Honorable Mentions are Brandon Antus, Totteridge, Paul Schlachter, Nevillewood, Tim Murphy, Chestnut Ridge, and Tim Moynihan, Willowbrook.