McCarthy receives Bill Mac Award

Posted July 13, 2006 - Western Pennsylvania Golf Association - Contact

Joe McCarthy, South Hills, a member of the Association's course rating team for over a decade, and a key member of the WPGA's Handicap Committee, was honored on July 12 at his club with the 2006 Bill Mac Award for outstanding service to the Association as a volunteer.

The award, usually presented at WPGA Club Rep Day in May, was delayed until a mutually convenient time could be identified. Usually a surprise, the secret was kept for an extra two months. WPGA committee members from South Hills, Don Elborne and Gary Evans, made arrangements at the club to honor McCarthy. Handicap Director Terry Teasdale made the presentation to an honored and surprised recipient, who was joined by his wife, daughter and son-in-law.

The award is named after the late Bill Mackowick, Willowbrook, 1928-96, who served for several years as a WPGA starter and score board calligrapher. McCarthy received the 8th annual award begun in 1999 with current WPGA President Cliff Lyon being the first honoree.

Congratulations, Joe McCarthy!

Previous Winners:
2005 - Crawford Berthold, Champion Lakes
2004 - Richard Falchetti, Kittanning
2003 - Rick Masten, Champion Lakes
2002 - Harry Ennis, Grove City
2001 - Gary McKindree, Butler
2000 - Ron Harris, Alcoma
1999 - Cliff Lyon, Edgewood