Nathan Smith "joins" two clubs

Posted July 2, 2008 - Western Pennsylvania Golf Association - Contact

108th West Penn Amateur Champion, Nathan Smith, being presented the W.C. Fownes Trophy by WPGA President, Terry Bailey at Bedford Springs Resort

By winning the West Penn Open at Butler on June 30-July 1, Nathan Smith joins ten players who have won both the West Penn Amateur and Open - Eben Byers, William C. Fownes, Arnold Palmer, John Birmingham, Jim Masserio, Ron Milanovich, Frank Fuhrer, III, Marshall Marraccini, Rick Stimmel and Bob Friend. Stimmel - 2002, Friend - 2006; and Smith - 2008, completed the feat this decade.

With wins of both in the same year, the groups gets smaller that Smith is now a part of: Byers, 1902; Fownes, 1906; Masserio, 1971, and Smith this year. All four are USGA champions. Byers won the 1906 Amateur; Fownes, 1910 Amateur, Masserio, 1969 Junior Amateur, and Smith, 2003 Mid-Amateur.