Van Sickle to receive 08-09 Fuhrer Award

Posted June 5, 2009 - Western Pennsylvania Golf Association - Contact

For the third straight year, Gibsonia's Mike Van Sickle, Marquette University, has been named the recipient of the Frank Fuhrer, III, Award, given to the area's outstanding collegiate player. Van Sickle, who graduated last month, won five tournaments this season, was named Big East Player of the Year, first team Division I All-American, and recently received the Byron Nelson Award, for outstanding golf, academics, and character, given by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

VanSickle won a total of eleven tournaments while at Marquette. He is currently the defending champion for both the Pennsylvania Amateur and Open.

Several other area collegiate golfers played well this season, making next year's Fuhrer Award very competitive. They include Joe Kabana, Robert Morris; Doug Mehall, Saint Vincent; John Popeck, Maryland; Jared Schmader, Clarion; Gavin Smith, Indiana, PA, the current NCAA Division II individual champion; Clarion; and Nathan Sutherland, Miami (OH).

VanSickle shared the award two years ago with Penn State's Robert Rohanna, Waynesburg, then won the next two years outright. The award recognizes Frank Fuhrer, III, Pittsburgh. He played at North Carolina, 1977-81, where he was a three-time All-ACC selection and an All-American in 1981. Fuhrer was ranked #2 in amateur golf that season, winning the Western Amateur, and playing on the Walker Cup team. He played the PGA Tour for several years, and won eleven WPGA titles.