Scoring error costly for Robert Rohanna

Posted January 20, 2011 - Western Pennsylvania Golf Association - Contact



Robert Rohanna at the 16th hole at the 2012 PNC West Penn Open Championship

Former Penn State standout Robert Rohanna, Waynesburg, made the "wrong mistake" in an NGA-Hooters Winter Series competition at Southern Dunes G&CC, Haines City, Florida, January 4-6. He was the apparent winner of the competition, good for just over $10,000 in winnings, when it was discovered that Rohanna inadvertently signed for a hole score lower than he had made. Rohanna was disqualified under Rule 6-6d, Scoring in Stroke Play, Wrong Score for Hole.

Rohanna was a three-time recipient of the WPGA's Frank Fuhrer, III, Award, as the area's outstanding collegiate golfer, 2005-2007. Rohanna won several college tournaments, reached the quarterfinals of the 2006 USGA Amateur Public Links Championship, and won the 2010 Pennsylvania Open. His cousin Rachel Rohanna, a sophomore at Ohio State University, won the same honor during the last season.