Tri-State PGA takes the Palmer Cup back

Posted September 10, 2012 - Western Pennsylvania Golf Association - Contact

Each year Arnold Palmer hosts the Palmer Cup between Western Pennsylvania Golf Association Amateurs and Tri-State PGA Professionals. Players make the team based on their season performance in each associations competitions.

The morning singles match play ended tightly contested. The Tri-State PGA headed to the afternoon Four-Ball matches with a one point lead, TSPGA 5 1/2 points to WPGA 4 1/2 points. Three WPGA competitors won their singles matches while four TSPGA competitors won their matches with three matches being halved.

2012 WPGA Palmer Cup Team. Bottom row left to right: Ross Pringle,
Rich DuCarme, David Brown, William Smith, Rick Baloh, Rick Stimmel,
Chad Rittle. Top row from left to right: Ron Coleman, Ian Bangor, Jeff
Dyer, Arnold Palmer, Perry Graciano, Paul Schlachter, Bennett Smith,
Erik Bertrand

The afternoon Four-Ball is here the TSPGA took control of the Cup. The TSPGA won four of the seven Four-Ball matches and halved one match bringing their days point total to 10 points to the WPGA's 7.

After winning the Palmer Cup in 2011 the WPGA gave the Cup back to the Tri-State PGA until next seasons competition. Latrobe Country Club provided a great venue, as always, for the competition and the weather could not have been better. The day was highlighted by Arnold Palmer interacting with all the competitors and taking in the competition as well as the Tri- State PGA honoring Oakmont Country Club Golf Professional, Bob Ford with induction into the Tri-State PGA Hall of Fame.