2012-13 Frank Fuhrer III Collegiate Player of the Year Award Watch List

Posted January 31, 2013 - Western Pennsylvania Golf Association - Contact

Carnegie Mellon Junior, Ian Bangor, at the 2012 West Penn Amateur

Ohio State senior Rachel Rohanna, two time Frank Fuhrer III co-Collegiate Player of the Year, and five other student athletes have been selected for the 2012-2013 Frank Fuhrer III Collegiate Player of the Year Watch List. Now in its 12th year, the Fuhrer Award is designated to recognize outstanding golf performance from a collegiate player that hails from Western Pennsylvania.

Previous recipients include Mike VanSickle, Justin Smith and Robert Rohanna. The 2012-2013 season watch list includes 3 seniors, 1 junior, 1 sophomore and 1 freshmen with student athletes competing at colleges in the states of Ohio, New York and Pennsylvania as well as the District of Columbia.

The 2012-2013 collegiate golf season includes the following players on the Fuhrer Award watch list: Ian Bangor, Junior (Carnegie Mellon), Michael Klaric, Senior (Cleveland State), Greg Podufal, Sophomore (Georgetown), Rachel Rohanna, Senior (Ohio State) and Sean Sweithelm, Senior (I.U.P.)

The Fuhrer Award is named in honor of Frank Fuhrer III. Now a businessman in Pittsburgh, Mr. Fuhrer’s accomplishments on the golf course include being named All-American at University of North Carolina Chapel Hill from 1979-1981, All ACC 1979-1981, named to the 1981 USGA Walker Cup team, winner of the 1981 Western Amateur and the winner of 11 Western Pennsylvania Golf Association Championships. Mr. Fuhrer was the #2 ranked Amateur in the United States in 1981 and is one of the leading supporters of the WPGA.