2013-2014 Frank Fuhrer III Collegiate Player of the Year Award Watch List

Posted April 4, 2014 - Western Pennsylvania Golf Association - Contact

Brett Rinker, Bowling Green University

Saint Bonaventure sophomore Joshua Stauffer, the 2012-2013 Frank Fuhrer III Collegiate Player of the Year, and five other student athletes have been selected for the 2013-2014 Frank Fuhrer III Collegiate Player of the Year Watch List. Now in its 13th year, the Fuhrer Award is designated to recognize outstanding golf performance from a collegiate player that hails from Western Pennsylvania.

Previous recipients include Mike VanSickle, Justin Smith and Robert Rohanna. The 2013-2014 season watch list includes 1 senior, 4 sophomores and 1 freshmen with student athletes competing at colleges in the states of Connecticut, New York, Ohio and Pennsylvania. The 2013-2014 collegiate golf season includes the following players on the Fuhrer Award watch list: Ian Bangor, Senior (Carnegie Mellon), William Betts, Sophomore (Hartford), Garrett Browning (Robert Morris), Brett Rinker, Freshman (Bowling Green), Darren Simons, Sophomore (St. Bonaventure) and Joshua Stauffer, Sophomore (St. Bonaventure).

The Fuhrer Award is named in honor of Frank Fuhrer III. Now a businessman in Pittsburgh, Mr. Fuhrer’s accomplishments on the golf course include being named All-American at University of North Carolina Chapel Hill from 1979-1981, All ACC 1979-1981, named to the 1981 USGA Walker Cup team, winner of the 1981 Western Amateur and the winner of 11 Western Pennsylvania Golf Association Championships. Mr. Fuhrer was the #2 ranked Amateur in the United States in 1981 and is one of the leading supporters of the WPGA.

More information on the Frank Fuhrer III Award
Watchlist Player Statistics