Betts named Frank Fuhrer, III, Award recipient

Posted June 19, 2015 - Western Pennsylvania Golf Association - Contact

Will Betts, University of Hartford

Will Betts, Leechburg, a junior at University of Hartford, Connecticut, was named the recipient of the 2014-15 Frank Fuhrer, III, Award, presented annually to the area’s outstanding college player.

Betts scoring average for 25 rounds was 73.9. He won one tournament shooting 68-70—138 to top a field of 88 players. He recorded three top 10’s and six top 20’s in nine competitions. Betts top non-collegiate achievement was qualifying for match play in the 2014 US Amateur at Atlanta Athletic Club.

Others receiving recognition were Matt Barto, Leechburg, freshman at Gannon University, Erie; Chris Kupniewiski, Erie, sophomore at Mercyhurst University in Erie, and Ryan Prokay, Grove City, a senior at Robert Morris University. Each player recorded a scoring average under 75 strokes and was medalist in at least one event. Prokay’s 65 was the lowest score recorded by an area collegiate player last season.

The award is named after Frank Fuhrer, III, a Pittsburgh businessman whose outstanding collegiate career at North Carolina, Chapel Hill, 1978-81, included being named All-ACC and All-American three times. In 1981 he won the Western Amateur, was named to the USGA’s Walker Cup team, and was ranked the #2 amateur in the country. Locally, he has won eleven WPGA championships in six different events, including the Amateur and Open.

Multiple winners include Mike VanSickle, Marquette, in 2007-08, 2008-09, Justin Smith, Minnesota, 2001-02, 2003-04, Robert Rohanna, Penn State, 2005-06, 2006-07, and Rachel Rohanna, Ohio State, 2009-10, 2011-12.

Justin Smith led Minnesota to an NCAA Division I National Championship in the 2003-04 season. Van Sickle has won both the West Penn and Pennsylvania Opens, Robert Rohanna has won the Pennsylvania Open, and Rachel Rohanna won a Symetra Tour competition last month.