Fallon renominated to USGA Executive Committee

Posted December 14, 2015 - Western Pennsylvania Golf Association - Contact

William E. Fallon, Oakmont, a member of the USGA Executive Committee since 2012, was nominated to a one-year term last month, his fifth. The new term is effective at the USGA’s Annual Meeting in San Diego on February 6. Prior to service on the Executive Committee, Fallon served on the USGA’s Regional Affairs Committee. He has worked at many USGA championships, often assisting on scoreboards with Mark Passey, USGA staff, a Regional Affairs Director. Fallon has served on numerous USGA committees during his Executive Committee tenure, including serving as the Chair of the 2013 and 2014 Amateur Public Links Championships and the 2015 Junior Amateur Championship. In addition, he is the Chair of Equipment Standards as well as serving on the Joint Equipment Standards, Finance and Rules of Golf committees.

Fallon is the sixth person from Western Pennsylvania to serve on the USGA Executive Committee. Others include Fred Brand, Jr., Oakmont, Pittsburgh Field Club, 1959-69; Eben Byers, Allegheny, 1905; J. Frederick Byers, Jr., Allegheny, 1950-60; John K. Mahaffey, Jr., Oakmont, 1976-80; Carol Semple Thompson, Allegheny, 1994-2000. Brand (1997) and Semple Thompson (2003) are recipients of the USGA’s Bob Jones Award, the organization’s highest honor.

Area USGA presidents include J. Frederick Byers, Allegheny, 1920-21; William C. Fownes, Jr., Oakmont, 1926-27; and Harton S. Semple, Allegheny, 1974-75.